Version 1.4.2.1

Report bugs and glitches you found
Locked
User avatar
Bean man
Posts: 2548
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 9:49 pm
Location: Wherever you're hiding your beans
Discord: Bean man#9687

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by Bean man » Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:57 pm

When using Super/Jet adapter and flying into a new screen as you change the weapon in transition you stop flying, and have your eyes bug out as you stand still until the transition ends. I'm assuming this is because of the blast effect they produce when using them and since it's no longer on them it just effects something else? I don't know, but it's weird.
Image

Okay yes alright okay

I now have an absolutely horrifying™ poorly made hockey mask for October.

User avatar
NMario84
Posts: 2531
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:08 pm
Location: My House
Discord: NMario84#6935
Contact:

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by NMario84 » Tue Nov 20, 2018 12:24 am

I already reported that issue with MM flashing his eyes when you screen transition from adapter to .regular MegaMan. I don't think they're going to fix it, sadly. :(
Image
Wanna go for a ride?

User avatar
sbq92
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 2:23 pm

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by sbq92 » Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:26 pm

NMario84 wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 11:33 pm
The immediate flashing has to do with the color swapping, between adapters, and regular megaman IIRC. Since the adapters are different sprites, they're doing both sprite and color swapping, if that makes any sense..
I'm not 100% sure if I get what you're saying, but I just did some testing and it looks like Mega Man's outline charging colors are shared between the mega buster and the adaptors. So, if using the MM5 or MM6 charge shot style then you get the red flashing outline when charging the adaptors, but if using the MM4 style you get the blue flashing outline. The adaptors should have their own flashing color, though, like Wild Coil and Noise Crush have.
Wood Mania: 210378
SotN Entrance: 208059
Jungle Base Infiltration -Revamped-: 112280
The Metal Conquest: 92368
Ridley V1 -Long-: 89791
Construction V2: 51433

User avatar
NMario84
Posts: 2531
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:08 pm
Location: My House
Discord: NMario84#6935
Contact:

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by NMario84 » Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:42 am

Oh yea that... He does indeed flash blue outline if MM4 charge shot is selected with adapters on. We have addressed this at least once before, but IIRC, they didn't want to change it.
Image
Wanna go for a ride?

User avatar
Hyenyaku
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 1:08 pm
Location: Sharo

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by Hyenyaku » Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:31 am

Just a normal glitch appeared when I was recording a video =)) :V
Image

User avatar
Bean man
Posts: 2548
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 9:49 pm
Location: Wherever you're hiding your beans
Discord: Bean man#9687

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by Bean man » Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:35 am

Hyenyaku wrote:
Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:31 am
Image
This happens way to often and can occur in pretty much any level. I hope they get around to fixing it because it's probably the most common thing to happen in most levels where you just clip through walls.
Image

Okay yes alright okay

I now have an absolutely horrifying™ poorly made hockey mask for October.

User avatar
NMario84
Posts: 2531
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:08 pm
Location: My House
Discord: NMario84#6935
Contact:

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by NMario84 » Fri Nov 23, 2018 6:36 pm

If this is purely random, then there's no real way to reproduce it consistently.
In other words, no way to fix it unless it's a bug we can reproduce on the spot.
Image
Wanna go for a ride?

User avatar
sbq92
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 2:23 pm

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by sbq92 » Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:16 pm

NMario84 wrote:
Fri Nov 23, 2018 6:36 pm
If this is purely random, then there's no real way to reproduce it consistently.
In other words, no way to fix it unless it's a bug we can reproduce on the spot.
It's likely an issue with the collision detection on tiles. Short of an overhaul of that system, I'm not sure it can be fixed reliably. Hopefully it can at least be improved a bit, but from what I understand, neither WP nor Luigi plan on changing the collision system.
Wood Mania: 210378
SotN Entrance: 208059
Jungle Base Infiltration -Revamped-: 112280
The Metal Conquest: 92368
Ridley V1 -Long-: 89791
Construction V2: 51433

User avatar
Royalguard
Posts: 3584
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 1:20 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Discord: RoyalGuard#1135

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by Royalguard » Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:18 pm

Hyenyaku wrote:
Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:31 am
Just a normal glitch appeared when I was recording a video =)) :V
Image
NMario84 wrote:
Fri Nov 23, 2018 6:36 pm
If this is purely random, then there's no real way to reproduce it consistently.
In other words, no way to fix it unless it's a bug we can reproduce on the spot.
Did some testing, and can confirm that the glitch shown is NOT random.

If you grab onto a ladder and activate boss doors, on the exact same frame, while flying with Jet Adaptor, various different types of clipping/screen transition oddities can occur. The timing to cause the glitch is strict, but if you get it down, the results of a glitch occurring are pretty consistent.
Due to complications playing MMM on either of my devices, I will be less active than usual.

My silly suggestions:
Toggle: Robot Masters Obey/Ignore Gravity Gimmicks
Separate Weapon Blocks For Buster Variants
Playable Sniper Joe

User avatar
NMario84
Posts: 2531
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:08 pm
Location: My House
Discord: NMario84#6935
Contact:

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by NMario84 » Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:28 pm

Okay I see what's going on....... It's not exactly the same time. What you do is, you use jet adapter and fly upwards in the door. Then during transition you hold up, and that glitch happens.

Okay, I'll go ahead and submit a report to the dev team. :)
Image
Wanna go for a ride?

User avatar
Royalguard
Posts: 3584
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 1:20 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Discord: RoyalGuard#1135

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by Royalguard » Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:33 pm

NMario84 wrote:
Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:28 pm
Okay I see what's going on....... It's not exactly the same time. What you do is, you use jet adapter and fly upwards in the door. Then during transition you hold up, and that glitch happens.

Okay, I'll go ahead and submit a report to the dev team. :)
Seems the timing of which you press up, can cause different effects to occur.

Some glitch effects that I noticed:
* Player transitioning 2 screens / getting stuck in ceiling. (Same as shown in the above .gif)
* Player goes through the same boss doors twice.
* Player's sprite seems to disappear all together and "Death by Bottomless Pit" behaviour is triggered.
Due to complications playing MMM on either of my devices, I will be less active than usual.

My silly suggestions:
Toggle: Robot Masters Obey/Ignore Gravity Gimmicks
Separate Weapon Blocks For Buster Variants
Playable Sniper Joe

User avatar
hiperbird
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by hiperbird » Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:20 pm

NMario84 wrote:
Sun Oct 28, 2018 9:30 pm
How consistent was that wall clip? I can't seem to reproduce that. :P
Step 1: Be over a` falling plataform

Step 2: At the same time you touch the spikes, walk right or left; but DON'T toluch the wall, if you're touching a wall it won't work
You'll clip backwards if there's a wall there.

Step 3: Right now you should bbe in a walking state while inside the wall, jump.
You clip down

right now three things can happen depending on what blocks are surrounding you
a)You get to a lower height, andcontinue normally
b)You are lower, but you stay in the same state
c)The game goes wild, you can walk on the inside of walls. The most interesting outcome, can be exploited to create levels, although it doesn't introduce almost any gameplay changes

How to get out of a wall?
Use a rolling drill of course! If you are standing inside a wall and a rolling drill destroys the block below you, you can jump twice to clip out of the wall. It can also be achieved if it destroys the block right above you and you can jump-clip down into open air

If you want to test it out I recomend a rotating platform to start, although it can be achieved with a falling platform too
I find it even a freature: Take a look at this: 277399

User avatar
NMario84
Posts: 2531
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:08 pm
Location: My House
Discord: NMario84#6935
Contact:

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by NMario84 » Sat Nov 24, 2018 6:38 pm

At the same time.....
If it's frame perfect input, I doubt anyone would be able to reproduce it on casual playthrough.

Also, if it's over spikes, they'll probably just end up dying anyway.
Image
Wanna go for a ride?

User avatar
Yoshi2018
Posts: 3740
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by Yoshi2018 » Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:43 pm

NMario84 wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 6:38 pm
At the same time.....
If it's frame perfect input, I doubt anyone would be able to reproduce it on casual playthrough.

Also, if it's over spikes, they'll probably just end up dying anyway.
I beat the level 277399 and it is not frame perfect, I got it twice in a row on the first try. Just hold right the last half-second. Now that I understand the nature of the glitch, I can tell you this is important to fix, but it probably is too hard to.



UNRELATED EDIT:

############################################################################################
ERROR in
action number 1
of Alarm Event for alarm 0
for object objMegaman:

Cannot load buffer file
at gml_Script_GME_LoadSong
############################################################################################
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
stack frame is
gml_Script_GME_LoadSong (line 0)
gml_Script_playNSF
gml_Object_objMegaman_Alarm_0
I am inactive. If you see me, consider yourself unlucky.

User avatar
BenPlusMM
Posts: 2175
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:21 pm
Location: Stuck At Doom's Gate
Discord: Ben™ #6759
Contact:

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by BenPlusMM » Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:00 pm

I only got it to happen once, but if you press Ctrl+R the frame you enter a boss door, the fade-out occurs, but the level doesn't restart.
Does this look like the face of mercy to you?
Image
Currently a Level 100 Pun Warrior!
XP to level up: largenumber.doc

User avatar
NMario84
Posts: 2531
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:08 pm
Location: My House
Discord: NMario84#6935
Contact:

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by NMario84 » Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:16 pm

Yoshi2018 wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:43 pm
I beat the level 277399 and it is not frame perfect, I got it twice in a row on the first try. Just hold right the last half-second. Now that I understand the nature of the glitch, I can tell you this is important to fix, but it probably is too hard to.
- Holding right = instant kill
- Holding left = instant kill
- tapping right = instant kill
- tapping left = instant kill.

Maybe you're doing something I'm not, or I just don't understand it :P

Oh okay i see....
- hold right just before the platform dropped.
- Press left just before hitting the spikes, then I was able to clip through.

Okay, I guess I'll report it, but I'm unsure if they're willing to "fix" such an obscure clip that's meant to kill you to begin with.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BenPlusMM wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:00 pm
I only got it to happen once, but if you press Ctrl+R the frame you enter a boss door, the fade-out occurs, but the level doesn't restart.
Yea I've gotten that to happen many times. But I'm unsure if it's worth fixing.
Last edited by NMario84 on Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Wanna go for a ride?

User avatar
hiperbird
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by hiperbird » Sun Nov 25, 2018 1:10 am

It's easy to solve, especially when used over a spinning platform
Try this one, went for an easier setup. in the firs one just hold right all the time, in the second wait until the last half second.
It's very consistent once you have it practiced
277563
---------------------------------------------O-----------------------------------------------
The problem is that even if it was frame perfect, it could lead to nightmare difficulty levels full of enemies being uploaded as legit (27769 - this level is pure BS, just try to beat it without clippnig and you'll notice how it's slightly impossible). And just imagine how people would get mad at puzzle levels because... well, there's no solution

User avatar
NMario84
Posts: 2531
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:08 pm
Location: My House
Discord: NMario84#6935
Contact:

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by NMario84 » Sun Nov 25, 2018 1:35 am

Well using unintended bugs intentionally just leads to poor level design anyway.
I recorded a GIF of me doing the clip out, and reported it to them, but I don't expect much to come out of it if the setups are so specific to require it.
Image
Wanna go for a ride?

User avatar
Jevedor
Posts: 581
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:56 pm

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by Jevedor » Mon Nov 26, 2018 11:24 pm

Don't know if its a known or already reported bug, but putting a MM1 Beak enemy in a room with yoku blocks desyncs them from the sequence they are set to.

From testing it seems like it gives them either a 1 or 2 point delay. I noted this when play testing this room setup

Image

vs

Image

In the first picture the yokus appear at the correct time. When I add the beak to the room the yokus appear late starting with the one set to 3 appearing when the one set to 1 should appear.

Very curious...

User avatar
NMario84
Posts: 2531
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:08 pm
Location: My House
Discord: NMario84#6935
Contact:

Re: Version 1.4.2.1

Post by NMario84 » Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:18 am

I just built a similar set up to that, and I got absolutely NO delay what so ever.
Image
Wanna go for a ride?

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest